Three figures at sea- 30 days of daily writing

There was an old man by the sea

And he told me it called him

I asked him how

he said it had already got him.

I asked what drove him here

and he replied “Nothing”

His wife died in labor

And his son Icarus wings

broken.

 

What a terrible tale to fall asleep to,

I can’t go like this, I told him

 

“I never wished my memories happy.

Only that the waves here now hold them.”

 

Then off in the distance a young man walked toward us.

His hands shook like those who held the guns for us.

Forsaken is the son who murdered his own father.

who then in his own side carved out a martyr.

Filter

2 thoughts on “Three figures at sea- 30 days of daily writing

  1. Thank you! I had a clear vision in my head when I started writing and it came out sort of foggy, but in the end I think I like it better this way. What did you think it was about? I’m curious 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

