My capsule wardrobe – part three

– T h e   D r e s s e s –

 


” We always talk about “capsule” the word like we know exactly what it should be. We reduce it down to mean small, minimal, simple, inhibited…only. However, we forget that the word  wasn’t chosen lightly. It is multidimensional – like the people who use it. In every sense of the word, a capsule is a sealed personality, a representation of exactly who you are in a single moment of time.  “

-J.Chen


No.1

cameringo_20160707_102215

 

 

No.2

cameringo_20160707_102416

 

 

No.3

cameringo_20160707_102535

 


No.1 : Black Deep-V skater dress – T.J. Maxx

No.2 : No Boundaries floral dress that used to be my mother’s

No.3 : Chambray button-up shirt dress – Paper Crane


The Tally:

3 dresses

8 tops

Total so far: 11 items
Estimated time of usage before switching (for dresses): one year

 


The key to having as little clothes as possible is have the mindset that you can wear anything an infinite amount of ways. I may have only three dresses, but I don’t see them as simple a number as “three”.

On some days, I would wear dresses backwards. Either the black dress or the button up . Especially for the button-up, the stiff fabric and versatile collar allows me to create dozens of combinations. I can flip the dress around, turn the collar up and have myself a very modern, high neckline. To hide the buttons and pockets in the back, I will drape a jacket or cardigan over it or perhaps tie a lightweight scarf or bandanna around my neck. If you’re not one to shy away from a fashion statement, let the button and pocket details show or unbutton the whole thing and let the sliver  of a bralette peak out.

The one luxury that I do give myself is the long floral dress that my mom gave me. In my opinion, there is no conceivable way for me to wear that backwards (or any other ways for that matter) without looking completely undone. I chose that dress not for its versatility but for how much I love it.

So, don’t forget that a capsule is not just about striking the most ease or the most versatility in a closet (although it certainly is about keeping simple and using creativity to reuse and reduce). The main purpose of a capsule is to make a collection of what you love above all others. Every other thing is just ordinary. A dress that truly serves no purpose other than to make me happy and feel beautiful belongs in  my wardrobe.

The common mistake that I see people making as they move into a simpler lifestyle is that they have rooted in their heads the idea that all things are bad, wrong, forbidden. They reject vintage sundresses for plain tunics they hate. They choose to wear minimalist uniforms rather than putting on what makes their body look amazing.

My personal philosophy is that, yes we need to distance ourselves from living off the sheer quantity of stuff in our lives. Yes, we need to face our dependency on consumerism as a crutch for our stress. And, yes less really is more. But really, I just think that when you  dress yourself, it should be a happy experience filled with the things that you love.

As they grow, people change, and they shed their clothes every now and then to become new versions of themselves. I always try to remember that what I wear isn’t all that I am. Nevertheless, what little I do choose to keep keeps me happy with who I want to be. We always talk about “capsule” the word like we know exactly what it should be. We reduce it down to mean small, minimal, simple, inhibited… only. However we forget that the word “capsule” wasn’t chosen lightly. It is multidimensional-like the people who use it. In every sense of the word, a capsule is a sealed personality, a representation of exactly who you are in a single moment of time.

For further capsule wardrobe adventures:

Part One: The beginning : what capsules are

Part Two: The Tops

For creative dressing ideas please read: 

The Art of Dressing Backwards

2 thoughts on “My capsule wardrobe – part three

Leave a Reply

